Pacific Swimming House of Delegates Meeting 28 June 2006

(Subject to approval at the next House of Delegates meeting)

The meeting was called to order at 7:10 p.m.

Board members attending are noted by an 'x' in the table below; board members not present but excused are marked with an 'E'. Team representatives and guests in attendance are also noted.

Don Power	X	Carole Yoshiwara	X	Harrison Race	X	1N-Sage Hopkins		Team Reps Present
Owen Melroy		Kyla Power	X	Laurie Benton	X	1S-Mike Piccardo		Korey Hayman
Scott Shea	X	Todd Krohn	X	Fred Siegrist	X	2-Kent Yoshiwara	X	Steve Clossick
Darwin Takaki	X	Tammy Hopkins		Rick Beebe	X	3-Warren Lager	X	Sue McAllister
Nancy Shaw	X	Clint Benton	X	Susi Jackson	X	4-Randy Burns		Cindy Acevedo
Fred Vogelgesang	X	Gwenn Chong		Jerry Koch				
Judy Siegrist	X	Millie Nygren	X	Mike Metcalf		At Large Rep's		Zone Alternates
George Cleveland	X	Gary Hinderliter		John Geary	X	Lehla Irwin		1S-Joe Del Rio
Larry Rice		Dave Cottam	X	Kim Jew	X	Marvin Lanphere		
Darryl Woo	X	Joyce Lanphere	X	Joe Woo	X			
Lloyd Yoshida	X	Elias Totah	X	Dean Dillingham				
Mary Yoshida	X	Gerry Ng	X	Rick Waterhouse	X			

Minutes: The minutes of the meeting of November 30, 2005, were approved as written.

Confirmation of Board of Directors Action since the last House of Delegates meeting:

• 0606-HR1 M/S/C (H. Race, J. Lanphere) To approve actions of the Board of Directors since the last House of Delegates meeting.

Announcements and Correspondence:

- The expected application from Reno, requesting a transfer from PC to SN, will not be forthcoming. The membership of Reno Aquatic Club declined to confirm this action. [see the Board of Directors minutes for further Zone 4 information]
- As announced on the Pacific Swimming website, a longtime member has passed away after a short bout with cancer. Donations may be made to the Tom Wilson Memorial Scholarship Fund (please visit http://www.pacswim.org for details) or to the Cancer Society.
- The Santa Clara International Meet was held this past weekend; it was well conducted and well attended. The dinner on Saturday evening to recognize George Haines featured Don Schollander, Natalie Coughlan, and Michael Phelps as speakers.

Elections:

- Board of Review elected for a new two-year term, commencing September 1, 2006: Gwenn Chong, John Geary, Darryl Woo, Kent Yoshiwara
- Volunteer of the Year results to be announced at Convention.
 Candidates: Rick Beebe, George Ceveland, Gary Hinderliter, Kim Jew, Darwin Takaki

Motions & Resolutions:

• 0604-GN2 M/S/Carried (G. Ng,) Change the wording of the first sentence of the Pacific Swimming Bylaws Article 10.3.2 to read: "Members - The Board of Review shall have at least seven (7) members, which shall include at least two (2) athlete members."

Zone Reports – No reports were presented at the House of Delegates meeting.

Camps – Attendance is up indicating that the athletes want to come to the camps and coaches are encouraging them to come. Parents are very appreciative of Pacific Swimming for providing this opportunity for their children. However, staffing the camps is difficult. People are willing to come on the day of the camp and help, but there is little interest in taking on the responsibility of planning the camp. Only Zone 3 has taken an active leadership role in hosting a camp. At this time, the planned Junior Leadership Camp will be cancelled due to lack of staff.

Prior Business: none

New Business: none.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:35 p.m. The next House of Delegates meeting will be held on November 29, 2006.

Respectfully submitted, Nancy Shaw, Secretary